Thank you to everyone who has helped so far with making Can’t Get Online Week happen. I am especially grateful to the CLA for their sponsorship, and to everyone else who has helped out, especially those who have contributed financially. There is still time to make a contribution using paypal to john[dot]popham[at]ntlworld[dot]com.

Here’s a message of support from Hugh Bonneville


The latest draft of the itinerary is below. As I am still some way short of my funding target, I am now asking if people could please help out with support in-kind, in the following ways:

CAR HIRE

Is there a car hire firm out there that might be prepared to donate a week’s car hire (Sunday 30th October to Saturday 5th November) in return for some positive publicity? Failing that, is there a company / organisation that has access to a favourable car hire rate as part of a corporate deal that I might be able to take advantage of? Many thanks to City Car Club for helping out with a greatly reduced rate car hire. They are lovely people and deserve your support.

ACCOMMODATION

If anyone would be prepared to put me up during the week, that would greatly help in keeping the costs down. I need accommodation in the following areas.

Sunday 30th October – somewhere in short driving distance of Colchester

Monday 31st October – somewhere in short driving distance of North Warwickshire

Thursday 3rd November – somewhere in short driving distance of Saltburn, North Yorkshire.

If at all possible I would like to stay in places with fairly decent internet connections, and where people don’t mind me hammering their connection by uploading the day’s content to the web.

FUEL

Anyone got access to a way of paying for petrol (perhaps a corporate account) that they might help out with?

FOOD

If you could send food parcels / vouchers, etc. that would be great (NB. I am vegetarian).

I would be exceptionally grateful to anyone that can help out, and I’ll ensure you get due publicity for your support.

Here are some links to some of the publicity and support we’ve received lately:

More from Hugh Bonneville:


Radio 5 Live “Outriders” programme:


Radio 4 “Today” Programme


And please join the Challenge on Facebook http://www.facebook.com/cantgetonline

THANK YOU!

 

